November 30, 2023


Exercise makes us healthy

2022 Heineken Cup Rugby – Connacht v Leinster


It’s Champions Cup rugby and we have the beginning groups for Connacht v Leinster, Tv set Protection on BT sporting activities for the 8 pm kick-off.

A potential crowd is predicted to be in attendance for Connacht’s very first physical appearance in the Champions Cup knockout stages, and Head Coach Andy Pal is in a position to welcome again a selection of crucial gamers just in time for the occasion.

British & Irish Lion Bundee Aki returns for his initial look since before the 6 Nations, whilst there is also a to start with start out of the period for Gavin Thornbury right after an outstanding cameo off the bench past weekend pursuing an 11 month absence.

The third and remaining adjust is the inclusion of club captain Jarrad Butler following missing the win over Benetton as a result of personal injury.

He types a back row with flankers Cian Prendergast and Conor Oliver, while Leva Fifita partners Thornbury. The front row of Matthew Burke, Dave Heffernan and Finlay Bealham is unchanged.

Match captain Jack Carty starts at 10 beside Kieran Marmion, even though Aki will have Tom Farrell for company at outside the house centre. A again 3 of whole-again Tiernan O’Halloran and wingers Mack Hansen and John Porch completes the side.

Commenting on the crew announcement, Andy Close friend says:

“There’s a substantial feeling of enjoyment amid all the players and administration for tomorrow night time. These are the kind of game titles you want to be concerned in, and with a capability group powering us it is heading to be a terrific situation and one we firmly believe that we can earn.

We have about 45 gamers education concerning our Execs and integrated Academy gamers so that is a good area to be at this stage of the year, and it is offered the coaches some head aches for our squad choice as perfectly.”

Leinster Staff News

Obtaining integrated some of the returning internationals into the lineup for past weekend’s gain at Thomond Park, Cullen has added captain Johnny Sexton into the matchday squad this 7 days.

The St Mary’s Faculty guy will be joined in the 50 %-backs by Luke McGrath, playing inside of the very same again line that started versus Munster.

Hugo Keenan continues to be at entire-back with Jimmy O’Brien, scorer of four attempts in Leinster’s very last European outing, and James Lowe on the wings.

Garry Ringrose at the time once again companions Robbie Henshaw in midfield.

In the pack, Cullen has built wholesale improvements to the entrance five with Cian Healy, Dan Sheehan, Tadhg Furlong, Ross Molony and Josh Murphy coming in.

Powering them, the again row of Caelan Doris, Josh van der Flier and Jack Conan goes unchanged.

The replacements bench consists of James Tracy, Ed Byrne, Michael Ala’alatoa, Devin Toner, Max Deegan, Jamison Gibson-Park, Ross Byrne and Ciarán Frawley.


Friday 8th April, 20:00 @ The Sportsground

15. Tiernan O’Halloran (203)
14. John Porch (54)
13. Tom Farrell (75)
12. Bundee Aki (115)
11. Mack Hansen (10)
10. Jack Carty (175) (C)
9. Kieran Marmion (204)
1. Matthew Burke (36)
2. Dave Heffernan (160)
3. Finlay Bealham (170)
4. Gavin Thornbury (59)
5. Leva Fifita (11)
6. Cian Prendergast (26)
7. Conor Oliver (37)
8. Jarrad Butler (91)

16. Dylan Tierney-Martin (2)
17. Tietie Tuimauga (9)
18. Jack Aungier (27)
19. Oisín Dowling (21)
20. Abraham Papali’i (22)
21. Caolin Blade (146)
22. Conor Fitzgerald (48)
23. Sammy Arnold (35)

Leinster Rugby workforce v Connacht (appearances in brackets):

15. Hugo Keenan (39)
14. Jimmy O’Brien (46)
13. Garry Ringrose (95)
12. Robbie Henshaw (61)
11. James Lowe (60)
10. Johnny Sexton CAPTAIN (178)
9. Luke McGrath (168)

1. Cian Healy (242)
2. Dan Sheehan (22)
3. Tadhg Furlong (120)
4. Ross Molony (132)
5. Josh Murphy (56)
6. Caelan Doris (48)
7. Josh van der Flier (107)
8. Jack Conan (110)


16. James Tracy (140)
17. Ed Byrne (81)
18. Michael Ala’alatoa (17)
19. Devin Toner (277)
20. Max Deegan (81)
21. Jamison Gibson-Park (109)
22. Ross Byrne (121)
23. Ciarán Frawley (48)

Referee – Karl Dickson (RFU)


Source hyperlink